Tags

, , , ,

I was asked to make some delicious morsels for my cousin’s rehearsal dinner. I was trying to think of items that I could make in bulk in a short amount of time. Obviously, based on the title of this post, cookies came to mind. I had never made shortbread cookies before so I never knew how much butter was in them. Please do not let that deter you. They are wonderful! I like to think that when I work out the butter and the sugar is the first thing to go, so I don’t like to limit my intake (there is a strong possibility that this is completely wrong, but it is what I tell myself). Anywho, if this is what you like to tell yourself too then keep reading for the recipe…

Total Time: 1 hour and 15 minutes           Cook Time: 8-12 minutes          

Idle Time: 30 minutes

 

¾lb Unsalted Butter (room temp)

1 cup Sugar

1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

3½ cups All-Purpose Flour

¼ teaspoon Salt

7 oz Semi-Sweet Chocolate

 

 

(1) Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

(2) Mix together the butter and sugar with a beater until they are just combined. Add the vanilla. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour and salt, then add them to the butter/sugar mixture. Mix on low until the dough starts to come together. Put the  dough onto a surface dusted with flour and shape into a flat disk. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for 30 minutes. 

(3) Roll the dough ½ inch thick and cut the dough into either 3×1 inch rectangles or whatever shape your heart and cookie cutters desire. Place the cookies on an ungreased baking sheet (trust me, that butter will seep out onto the pan on its own) and sprinkle with sugar.


(4) If doing the 3×1 rectangles bake for 12-15 minutes, until the edges are golden brown. If doing a small cookie cutter, like the hearts I did, then bake for 8-12 minutes. However, I would check on them often, because shortbread cookies can go from just about done to burnt really fast. 

(5) When the cookies cool place them on parchment paper. Put 3 ounces of chocolate in a bowl and microwave for 30 seconds. Stir with a wooden spoon and place in the microwave for another 30 seconds. Continue until chocolate is melted (not burnt!!). Add the remaining chocolate to the bowl and stir vigorously until chocolate is smooth. The more you stir the glossier it will become!

(6) You can now either dip the cookies in the chocolate, or get a spoon and drizzle chocolate over the cookies so that about half the cookie is covered with chocolate. Place in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to let chocolate harden.

(6) Enjoy! 

