Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve had this recipe for a few years, but for some reason never got around to making it. Since fall is in full-force and coffee cake always reminds me of mornings curled up in a blanket, I thought it was a great intro treat to my fall baking. While the coffee cake was a hit at work, I have to remind myself that they aren’t the hardest crowd to please. I was generally happy with the taste, but I would definitely make some changes next time (sub brown sugar for white sugar, add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the streusel and, in general, add a bit more streusel). Other than that, it was moist and the chocolate chips just melt in your mouth.

Total Time:  1 hour                                  Cook Time: 35 minutes

Streusel

½ cup All-Purpose Flour

¼ cup Hazelnuts

½ cup Sugar (if I had to redo, I’d use light brown sugar instead)

Pinch of Salt

5 tablespoons of Butter (chilled)

1 teaspoon of cinnamon (not originally in my recipe, but something I would add)

Cake

1¼ cup All-Purpose Flour

½ teaspoon Baking Powder

1 teaspoon Baking Soda

¼ teaspoon Salt

½ cup (1 stick) + 1 tablespoon Butter

1 cup Sugar (as above I would sub light brown sugar)

2 Eggs

1½ teaspoon Vanilla Extract

½ cup Sour Cream

½ cup of Seedless Boysenberry Jam (you can easily sub any jam that you would like)

¼ cup Chocolate Chips (I used Ghiradelli for the richer flavor)

(1) Combine flour, hazelnuts, sugar and salt in food processor. Cut butter into small cubes and add to the dry mixture in food processor. Process until it resembles small peas. Make sure to not process it too much that it becomes a big ball of dough.

(2) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour a baking pan. My newest favorite  spray is Wilton Bake Easy. Your cakes really will just fall out with this.

(3) Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in medium bowl. Beat butter until creamy. Slowly add in sugar and beat until creamy and fluffy. Add in the flour mixture and beat until the mixture comes together like a dough.

(4) Combine the eggs, vanilla and sour cream in a small bowl. Slowly pour the egg mixture onto the dough while mixing on low speed for three to five minutes. 

(5) Pour batter into prepared pan and spread evenly. Use a spoon to dollop 8-10 scoops of jam over the batter. Sprinkle the chocolate chips evenly over the batter. Using a knife swirl the jam and chips into the batter to marble. Sprinkle streusel over the top of the batter. 

(6) Bake for 25-30 minutes until the top is brown. Let the coffee cake cool a bit before serving. However, serving slightly warm makes it taste even better. 

(7) Enjoy!

 

*** I personally used two 9×9 pans, so I can keep one at home and take one to work. But if you want to put it in a bigger pan, such as 13 x 9, it would work just the same. 

