Tags

, , , , ,

I love hummus. I think it’s one of the best things ever created. I like hummus on sandwiches, on vegetables, chips, pretzels, everything. But as much as I love hummus, I’ve very picky. Sometimes, the hummus that people make is just plain horrible. I always just assumed that this was because hummus was hard to make. I was wrong. This almost shouldn’t count as a full post because it so simple to make. Literally, there was no skill used to make this deliciousness. Therefore, I now refuse to settle for sub par hummus.

With this recipe it is important to get unsweetened pumpkin. While there is pumpkin in it do not worry it does not have a heavy pumpkin taste. My mother cringed at the idea at first, but once she tried she agreed it was wonderful.

Total Time: 15 minutes

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans) drained and rinsed

2 garlic cloves minced

¼ cup lemon juice

¼ cup water

3 tablespoons tahini

½ cup  + 1 tablespoon canned unsweetened pumpkin puree

1 teaspoon cumin

¾ teaspoon salt

¼ cayenne pepper

1/3 cup olive oil

(1) Place garlic cloves in food processor and process until garlic is in small sections (don’t mix completely). Add chickpeas, lemon juice, water and tahini and process till smooth. 

(2) Add pumpkin, cumin, salt and cayenne pepper. Process again till smooth. Add in olive oil a little bit at a time and process (I divided by oil up  into 3 sections). 

(3) Taste and decide if you need to add more cayenne pepper for a spicier taste.

(4) Enjoy!

 

See it was way too easy!

