Tags

, , ,

I didn’t always like Pecan Pie. I actually hadn’t tried it till two years ago. It always looked weird and creeped me out. Every once in a while we would have a pecan pie at Thanksgiving or Easter, but I stuck with the more traditional pies. I wasn’t much of a risk taker. However, two years ago I visited my cousin and his wife in Sweden. My cousin’s wife’s mom (phew that was exhausting) invited my friends and I over and she had prepared a pecan pie. I didn’t want to be rude, so I figured I would suck it up and eat it. Thank God I did! It was absolutely delicious. Sweet and rich with a mix of salty. Since then I’ve been in search of finding a similar pecan pie. Still nothing has compared to it, but I figured I would give it a try with my own little twist. Adding some chocolate chips in it switched it around enough to make it something my family hadn’t tried before.

Total Time: 1 hour and 15 minutes                     Cook Time: 50 minutes

Crust

3¼ cup of All-Purpose Flour

1 teaspoon of Salt

1 cup of Vegetable Shortening

¾ cup of Cold Water

Filling

4 Eggs

¼ cup of Sugar

¾ cup of Brown Sugar

½ cup of Corn Syrup

1 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract

3 tablespoons of melted butter

1½ cups of Pecans

1 cup of Chocolate Chips (I used Ghirardelli for a richer taste)

 

(1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Scoop the flour and salt into a large bowl. Make a well in the middle to put the shortening in. If you have a pastry blender, use it to mix together the shortening and flour until it is well incorporated and it begins to look like small pea size chunks. If you don’t have a pastry blender, you can try to use a fork or your hands. However, if you use your hands make sure they are well coated in flour so you don’t melt the shortening.

(2) Pour the water in a little at a time and begin to bring the flour into a dough ball. Keep adding water until you can just get a ball to form. It will be a bit sticky and you may need slightly more or less water depending on how it mixes together. 

(3) Divide the dough into three equal sized balls. I only made one pie, so I put one of the balls into the refrigerator while I mixed the filling and then put the other two in the freezer for me to use when I make my next pies. Obviously, if you are going to make more pies today you would save as many balls as you need. 

(4) While your balls of dough are in the refrigerator, begin making the filling. Whisk together the eggs, sugars, corn syrup, vanilla and melted butter. Once whisked completely, fold in the pecans and chocolate chips into the egg and sugar mixture. You want to make sure all of the chocolate chips and pecans are coated with the egg/sugar mixture. 

(5) Take out your refrigerated ball of dough. Put a handful of flour on your counter and sprinkle some additional flour on your rolling pin. Start rolling out the dough with the pin, flipping and turning the dough to get a circle large enough to fit your pan. Your dough should be about 1/8 inch thick when you are done rolling. 

(6) Fold the dough in half and place it into the pan, unfolding it to fit. (I used a 10″ plastic pie pan to cook with, because my 10″ glass pie pan is too big for all the filling. However, if you have a 9″ glass pan then I think it may work). Trim the edges so that about an inch is hanging from the sides. Add the filling to the pie, making sure to scrape out all the left over chocolate chips and pecans in the bowl. Fold the extra inch of dough under and pinch the sides for decoration. 

(7) Use either a crust cover or aluminum foil to cover the crust edges. Bake with the aluminum foil for about 35 minutes. After 35 minutes, remove the foil from the edges and bake for an additional 15 minutes (50 minutes total). You want to cook until the filling is set. It may jiggle slightly in the middle, but you will see it doesn’t look as liquidy as it did even at the 35/40 minute mark. 

(8) Remove the pie and let it cool. I cooked my pie the night before Thanksgiving and let it cool in the refrigerator overnight. However, I would let the pie sit out and get to room temperature before serving. 

(9) If you want the drizzle on top add an extra two tablespoons of chocolate chips. I put these in a ziplock bag and sat them in the middle of the stovetop while the pie was cooking. They melted in the bag, then I cut a little hole in one of the bottom corners. Now you can easily drizzle the top with whatever chocolate design you would like. 

(10) Enjoy!

 

Recipe Adapted from Providence Food.

