Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m a born and raised Bay Area girl. A place where we revel in our sourdough bread and delicious sandwiches. So moving to the East Coast and the South posed problems when most of the sandwich shops just didn’t have bread that was up to my spoiled San Francisco standard. However, in Winston-Salem there was one deli that stood out among the rest, Dioli’s. It’s easily what I miss the most. Being a girl of tradition, whenever I went in I would get the same exact sandwich and then treat my self to one of each of their thumbprint cookies: one chocolate, one raspberry and one apricot (eaten in that order every time of course!). I moved back to San Francisco and suddenly I was yearning for the South. No bakery had my thumbprint cookies just how I wanted them. So I had to try to make my own. My dad easily thinks these were the best thing he has ever had (that I’ve made), but I’m going to be honest with you. They aren’t Dioli’s thumbprint cookies. I don’t know if I can ever make them. But this is one tasty substitute that takes no time to make and is perfect until I figure out how.

1 Year Ago: Mini Chocolate Almond Croissants

Total Time: 30 minutes                     Cook Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Butter
  • ⅔ cups Sugar
  • 2 cups Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Almond Extract (you can use vanilla extract, but I like the punch the almond extract gives it)
  • ½ cup of Raspberry Jam
  • ½ cup of Apricot Jam
  • ½ finely chopped Walnuts

(1) Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Mix in the flour and your chosen extract. (Yes, it’s really that simple!)

(2) Scoop out a spoonful of the mixture and shape into 1-inch balls (you can use a melon baller or a tablespoon to scoop the dough). Put each ball onto a cookie sheet and press your thumb into each one to make an indention.  Don’t push too hard down. You need enough cookie dough to support the jam.

(3) Put as much jam as you can put into each thumbprint. Then sprinkle with walnuts, if desired. I did half with walnuts and half without just in case someone didn’t want a walnut one.

(4) Bake 13-15 minutes at 350 degrees or until golden brown.

(5) Enjoy!!

