Tags

, , , ,

There are few things that my mother likes. She always wants either chocolate chip cookies or a regular pound cake. She doesn’t do anything different or exciting when it comes to desserts. I’ll tell her about desserts that I’m dreaming up and she always gets that look on her face like I’m crazy. Oatmeal raisin cookies weren’t too far off the norm for my mom, so when I gave her some I didn’t get that weird scowl. Instead, she actually told me that these were the best thing I’ve ever made. She likes it so much, I have to regularly make her the cookie dough for her to make the cookies whenever she wants. To have the cookie dough for yourself, check out the recipe.

Total Time: 35 minutes                                        Cook Time: 18 – 20 minutes

  • 2¼ cups of Flour
  • ½ tablespoon of Baking Soda
  • ¼ tablespoon of Salt
  • 1 cup of Quick Oats (not Instant)
  • 1 cup of Dark Brown Sugar
  • ½ cup of Sugar
  • 1 cup of Butter (2 sticks) room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons of Honey
  • 2 teaspoons of Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1½ cups of Raisins
  • ½ cup of chopped Walnuts

(1) Preheat oven to 300 degrees. In a medium sized bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt and quick oats. In the bowl of an electric mixer, mix together the dark brown sugar and the sugar. Add the butter to the sugar mixture and beat until well combined.

(2) Add the honey, vanilla extract and eggs and beat until light and fluffy. Finally add the flour mixture, raisins and walnuts and mix JUST until combined. You don’t want to over mix this recipe.

(3) Using a tablespoon, spoon the cookie dough on a cookie sheet. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until the cookies are light golden brown. Let the cookies cool and make sure to grab a glass of milk.

(4) Enjoy!!

