Tags

, , , , , , ,

So I’ve been a bad baker. I’ve had my KitchenAid Ice Cream Maker Attachment for months and months. And I haven’t made any ice cream. I didn’t realize how bad I was, until my friend pointed it out. I have to admit, I think I was a little afraid of ice cream. In my mind, it just sounds scary and a bit overwhelming. Even sometimes looking at the recipes can be a bit intimidating. But let me tell you investing in the ice cream maker may have been the best and worst decision I ever made. Great, because I see it isn’t that hard and I do love ice cream. But bad because I LOVE ice cream. Ughh it’s such a hard life I live!! =)

One of my favorite types of ice cream is pumpkin ice cream. First, because it’s plain delicious. Secondly, because I come from what may be the pumpkin capital of America. And lastly, I think I crave it so much because really I can only get it in September and October. Not anymore! Keep reading for this yummy recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned unsweetened pumpkin
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp freshly grated nutmeg

(1) In a bowl, whisk together the pumpkin and vanilla. Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours or up to 8 hours.

(2) In a large saucepan over medium heat, combine the heavy cream, whole milk, cinnamon, ginger, salt and nutmeg, and brown sugar. Let it cook until bubbles start forming around the edges of the pan (about 5 minutes).

(3) While that is cooking, separate the egg yolks and place in a medium bowl. Remove the cream mixture from the heat and gradually whisk it into the egg mixture until smooth. Pour the egg mixture back into the pan.

(4) Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon and keeping the custard at a low simmer. (You’ll know it’s done when the mixture is thick enough that it coats the back of the spoon and leaves a clear trail when you run your finger through it. About 4 to 6 minutes.) Do NOT allow the custard to boil. Once it’s done, strain through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl. (You want to make sure that any of the excess egg pieces doesn’t get in your final mixture). Cover with plastic wrap, pressing it directly on the surface of the custard to prevent a skin from forming. Then refrigerate it until it’s chilled (at least 3 hours or up to 24 hours).

(5) Transfer the custard to an ice cream maker and churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions. If you have a KitchenAid attachment, you’ll want to hook up the different pieces, and then set it on Stir for about 25 minutes. I didn’t add pecans or any extra goodies to mine (although next time I probably will try pecans), pour them in at around the 12-15 minute mark. Also, some people like to include some bourbon to give it a little pizzazz, but I wanted to keep mine non-alcoholic. If you do that, add the bourbon (about 1 tablespoon) during the last minute of churning.

(6) Once done churning, transfer the ice cream to a freezer-safe container. Once it’s done churning, it isn’t going to be the same consistency as ice cream that you buy at the store. Instead it will still be more of a soft serve type of ice cream (see picture above). So cover and freeze until firm, at least 3 hours or up to 3 days, before serving (I found that overnight was perfect). I would say this makes a little more than a Ben & Jerry’s tub. I know very scientific measurements!

(7) Enjoy!!

Recipe Adapted by Williams-Sonoma

