Tags

, , , ,

I was invited to my first Shabbat dinner this past Friday. Since my mother taught me to always bring  a delicious dish when going to someone else’s house, I thought a nice rugelach would be good. I have to admit, I had never had rugelach until a week prior. So for those that don’t know (like me two weeks ago, it’s very similar to a croissant but with a more cookie like exterior. I think I would have liked them to be a bit crispier/flakier, but everyone seemed to like them and they were all gone before I left the house. That could also be my croissant loving ways calling out to me. Definitely try these out for any day, not just Shabbat!

Cookie Exterior

  • 8 ounces (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

Chocolate Filling

  • 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder

Cinnamon Sugar Topping

  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

(1) With a paddle attachment, mix butter, cream cheese, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and salt on medium speed for about 1 minute until completely combined. Mix in vanilla just until combined. Mix in flour just until combined. You don’t want to over mix the batter. Pat dough into an 8-inch square, wrap dough in plastic wrap, and chill for about 1 hour or until fairly firm.

(3) Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Cut dough into 4 equal pieces. On a floured surface roll out each piece into a 12-inch by 4-inch strip. Sprinkle 1/4 of the chocolate mixture onto dough (lining the 12-inch side) and gently press into the dough to adhere. Pressing it down is actually an important step, or else when you cut the cookies the chocolate will fall out.

(5) Working from the long end, gently roll dough strip into a 12-inch long log, making sure the seam is at the bottom. Cut log into 1-inch pieces and place on one half of the baking sheet, evenly spacing apart. Repeat with second piece of dough to fill the first pan. Repeat with remaining pieces of dough to fill the second pan.

(6) In small bowl, stir together sugar and cinnamon, and sprinkle on rugelach. Bake until rugelach is light golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes on pan, then transfer rugelach to a wire rack to cool completely.

(7) Enjoy!!

Recipe Adapted from Serious Eats