Tags

, , , , , ,

I don’t think I ever stop being honest with all of you, so before I start this post I feel like I should tell you that I don’t really like eating peaches. I’ve tried. I like peach smoothies. And I like peach and raspberry cobbler. But just peaches, not cooked and with no delicious raspberries next to it makes me grimace. Don’t worry, I don’t understand it either. What I do understand is that this cobbler is delicious. I must say that the topping on this was amazing. I was upset that I only stole one piece before giving the rest to my mom. She’s one lucky lady.

Total Time: 1 hour and 15 minutes                       Cook Time: 40-45 minutes

Filling

  • 6-7 large peaches (make sure they are firm so they will hold up well when cooked)
  • 2 containers of raspberries
  • 1¼ cups sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour (if the mixture looks to runny, feel free to add another tablespoon)

Crust

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1½ teaspoons of cinnamon
  • ¾ cup butter (cold and cut into small pieces)
  • ½ cup regular oats
  • ½ cup sliced almonds

(1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 10-inch pie dish with non-stick flour spray (I used a 9-inch dish, but I wish I would have used a 10-inch because I had a little extra of the filling and crust). Bring a large pot of water to a boil and place the peaches in for 30 seconds. Remove from the boiling water and place in a pot of cold water for a 5-10 seconds then remove. You will now be able to easily peel the peaches with your fingers.

(2) Cut the peeled peaches into thick slices (about 8 slices per peach). Place sliced peaches in a bowl with the sugar, brown sugar and 3 tablespoons of flour. Toss well. Then gently mix in the raspberries. Place this mixture to the side while you make the topping.

(3) Whisk together the brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon for the topping in a medium sized bowl. Place the small pieces of cold butter in the flour mixture and mix in using a pastry blender (if you don’t have a pastry blender you can use a fork) until well combined. Add the oats and sliced almonds.

(4) Pour the peach filling into the pie dish. Then sprinkle the crust mixture on top of the peaches and raspberries. (I actually ended up using a little more than ¾ of my crust mixture, but I think that’s because I had a smaller pan. You should be able to get all of the crust mixture or most of it on top of the filling).

(5) Bake cobbler for 40 – 45 minutes or until the crust starts to turn a golden brown. Serve warm and add vanilla ice cream or whipped cream if so desired.

(6) Enjoy!